• Home • Forum • Register • Login • 

Home » Forums » Public Forums » General Chat



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

 
Author Message
 Post subject: Long Loading Screens? No SSD?
 Post Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:23 am 
Offline
Finally!
Finally!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 2:41 pm
Posts: 6748
Location: Fall River, MA
From MysticalOS, the guy behind DBM:

Quote:
If you do NOT have an SSD or at very least SSD/HDD hybrid drive, you really need to use SET worldPreloadNonCritical “0” in your config. tip of the day!


Ad this to your Config.wtf for loading time screen decrease!

Or get an SSD! hehe

_________________
Image
"Well, hey, I didn't spend all those years playing Dungeons & Dragons and not learn a little something about courage."
"Tanks are the only Class/Spec that makes you fight NPCs and members of your group at the same time." - Sig seen on the General Forums


Top Bottom
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Long Loading Screens? No SSD?
 Post Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:41 am 
Offline
Scout
Scout

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 7:11 am
Posts: 57
Just in case any is wondering where that file is Located it is the world of warcraft folder within the WTF folder.

\World of Warcraft\WTF\Config.wtf


Thank you so much Ru for posting this !


Top Bottom
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Long Loading Screens? No SSD?
 Post Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:00 pm 
Offline
Grunt
Grunt

Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 12:06 pm
Posts: 245
Quote:
Or get an SSD! hehe


Grabbed a 256GB Kingston SSD in Dec as a "XMas"/work bonus gift to myself for $104 CDN


Bel


Top Bottom
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Long Loading Screens? No SSD?
 Post Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 4:29 am 
Offline
Senior Sergeant
Senior Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 8:20 pm
Posts: 601
Location: NJ
Actionfiguredan wrote:
Quote:
Or get an SSD! hehe


Grabbed a 256GB Kingston SSD in Dec as a "XMas"/work bonus gift to myself for $104 CDN


Bel



doesn't that equal about $5 american? :lol: :lol:

SSD's are pretty cheap now..... if you don't have at least 1 your are just torturing yourself needlessly.


Top Bottom
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Long Loading Screens? No SSD?
 Post Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 11:35 am 
Offline
Grunt
Grunt

Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 12:06 pm
Posts: 245
I was thinking the same thing Nyst haha


Top Bottom
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Long Loading Screens? No SSD?
 Post Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:25 pm 
Offline
First Sergeant
First Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 6:49 pm
Posts: 887
Location: Columbus, OH
Thanks Ru...that was a huge help

_________________
"Just when I thought I heard the dumbest thing ever, you keep talking." Hank Hill


Top Bottom
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Long Loading Screens? No SSD?
 Post Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 9:09 pm 
Offline
Scout
Scout
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 10:16 pm
Posts: 71
Location: Georgia
That helped a lot. :)

Thanks for sharing!

Next on my list to buy is a SSD. >.>

_________________
Blog | Twitter | Anook | Steam | YouTube


Top Bottom
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Long Loading Screens? No SSD?
 Post Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2017 1:39 pm 
Offline
Scout
Scout

Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 12:43 pm
Posts: 44
Chestnut wrote:
That helped a lot. :)

Thanks for sharing!

Next on my list to buy is a SSD. >.>


Yeah, snag one asap. It's amazing, and you don't really need a super nice one to get leaps-and-bounds benefit over spinning rust. If you need help picking one, holler; and if you don't need a large one, I probably have an extra lying around I can ship.


Top Bottom
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Long Loading Screens? No SSD?
 Post Posted: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:09 am 
Offline
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 5:28 pm
Posts: 2108
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Mine is @125 And can't handle wow. This trick helped for day one, but that's it. It generally takes me about five minutes (or more) for loaing screens.


Last edited by Huzzah on Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top Bottom
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Long Loading Screens? No SSD?
 Post Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:39 am 
Offline
Supreme Overlord
Supreme Overlord
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 6:32 pm
Posts: 8952
Location: Ottawa, Canada
What is @125, Huzz?

/T

_________________
Hunterin' since '04.

If you mess with the bull, you may get the horns...


Top Bottom
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Long Loading Screens? No SSD?
 Post Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:44 pm 
Offline
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 5:28 pm
Posts: 2108
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Tiren wrote:
What is @125, Huzz?

/T


my ssd is 125


Top Bottom
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 


Who Is Online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

cron